1. When will the new sunrise plates be issued?
SCDMV will begin issuing the plates with the July 2008 vehicle registration renewals. The first customers to receive these plates will be customers who pay their property tax bills and apply for renewal in June.
2. Who will receive the new sunrise plates?
The sunrise plates will replace the current palmetto plates. If you have a palmetto plate, you will receive your sunrise plate shortly after you pay your property taxes and renew your vehicle registration. If you have another type of South Carolina license plate on your vehicle, such as a specialty plate or military plate, you will not receive a sunrise plate as a replacement.
3. How will I get the sunrise plate?
The sunrise plates will be sent to you by mail after you pay your property taxes and renew your vehicle registration. Typically, you can not apply for license plate renewal more than 60 days prior to the end of the expiration month of your current license plate.
4. I usually pay my property taxes and vehicle registration in person at my county tax office. Will the county give me my sunrise plate?
No. County tax offices that issue SCDMV vehicle registrations will provide you with a receipt and a temporary registration when you pay your vehicle property tax and registration fee. Once you renew your vehicle registration, you should receive you new sunrise plate by mail within 10 days.
5. My county doesn’t issue SCDMV vehicle registrations. How will I get a temporary vehicle registration?
You may obtain a temporary vehicle registration at your local SCDMV office or you may keep your county property tax receipt in your vehicle while you wait for your license plate to be delivered. If you visit your local SCDMV office on the same day that you pay your vehicle property taxes, you may obtain your sunrise plate that day.
6. I’d like to get my sunrise plate as soon as it’s available. Can I get a sunrise plate before it’s time to pay my property taxes and renew my vehicle registration?
Before you can obtain a vehicle registration, you must pay your vehicle property taxes at your county office. Once you pay your property taxes and vehicle registration renewal, you should receive your sunrise plate within 10 days.
7. I usually wait until the last day of the month to pay my vehicle property taxes and registration. Will I receive a ticket for operating my vehicle with an expired tag?
County tax offices that issue SCDMV vehicle registrations will provide you with a receipt and a temporary registration when you pay your vehicle property tax and registration fee. You may operate your vehicle with the temporary vehicle registration and/or paid property tax receipt until you receive your sunrise license in the mail, which should be within 10 days. SCDMV will notify law enforcement officials that many residents will use temporary vehicle registrations and paid property tax receipts while they are waiting for their new plates to arrive.
8. I plan to go out of town. Will law enforcement from other states recognize a temporary vehicle registration?
SCDMV will only be able to notify South Carolina law enforcement about the use of temporary vehicle registrations. If you know you are going out of town and will need your plate, visit your local DMV office on the same day you pay your property taxes to obtain your new plate.
9. Can I pick up my sunrise plate at my local SCDMV office after I pay the vehicle property taxes?
You may pick up your sunrise plate at a SCDMV office only on the day you pay your property taxes. If you wait and visit your local SCDMV office on another day, you must wait to receive the plate by mail. If you do not pick up your plate on the day you pay your property taxes, the process for ordering and delivering your plate by mail will begin electronically that evening.
10. What is the cost for the new sunrise plate?
The cost for the new sunrise plate is the same as the fee for the palmetto plate. Vehicle registration fees are as follows:
Passenger cars - $24.00 fee
RV’s - $24.00 fee
Persons 64 years of age $22.00 fee
65 or older or disabled $20.00 fee
(If disabled, a statement from a medical doctor as to the permanency of the disability must be submitted.)
11. I like the numbers and letters that are currently on my palmetto plate. Can I get those same numbers on my sunrise plate?
The sunrise plates will be issued in sequential order and SCDMV will not issue special number or letter sequences by request. Sequential production is more efficient and cost effective for the state.
12. I received my sunrise plate in the mail and I don’t like the combination of numbers and letters on the plate. What can I do?
The SCDMV plate issuance system screens the number and letter sequences, which prevents the production of offensive sequences from being produced. However, if you object to the number and letter sequence on your plate, you may obtain a replacement plate at your local SCDMV office. A $6.00 fee is required for a replacement plate.
13. I am planning to purchase a new car. How can I get a sunrise license plate for my new vehicle?
If you purchase your new plate from an automobile dealership after July 1, 2008, you can get a sunrise plate for your vehicle if you indicate that you want a new plate. If you purchase a used vehicle after July 1, 2008, you may obtain a new plate from your local SCDMV office. If you transfer your palmetto plate to your new vehicle from another vehicle, you will not be able to obtain a sunrise plate until that vehicle registration is renewed.
14. I did not receive a temporary registration form from my county or from SCDMV when I paid my property taxes and my renewal fee. Do I need a temporary registration form to drive my car?
No. You may use a paid property tax receipt to indicate that you have renewed your vehicle’s license plate. You may drive for 30 days after your license plate’s month of expiration if you have your paid property tax receipt in your car.
15. What should I do with my old palmetto plate once I receive my sunrise plate?
You are not required to return the plate to DMV, but please remember the plate is recyclable. You can recycle the plate yourself or, if you like, return it to DMV to be recycled.