When applying for or renewing a South Carolina
driver’s license, you must certify on the driver's license application (Form 447-NC or Form 447-CDL)
that you are insured by an automobile liability policy. If you do not own a
vehicle or a vehicle is not in the household, you must indicate that fact on
the second page of your application.
The first time you register your vehicle in SC
and each time your vehicle registration is renewed, you must provide the name
of your insurance company. This insurance company must be licensed to do
business in South Carolina. SCDMV will verify your coverage
electronically. If the insurance policy cannot be verified, your driver's
license and vehicle registration may be suspended. If suspended, the owner may
have to pay up to $400.00 to reinstate their driving and registration
privileges. If you are a new resident in SC and have an automobile policy with
a national insurance company, be sure to change your address with your
insurance company before you register your vehicle in SC.
You Must Maintain Proof
of Insurance inside your Vehicle.
If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer
and unable to provide proof that the vehicle you are operating is insured, you
may be issued a citation and be subject to a fine or imprisonment. If issued a citation
for failure to provide proof of insurance when stopped by law enforcement, you
will be required to provide proof of insurance for the vehicle that you were
operating within thirty (30) days to avoid an indefinite suspension of your
driver’s license. If suspended you will be required to pay $100.00 to
reinstate your driving privileges.
Back to Top